clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Carolina Hurricanes at Ottawa Senators: Rosters and Game Discussion

Two non-competitive, golfing bound teams face off in late March...yay!

NHL: Carolina Hurricanes at Ottawa Senators Marc DesRosiers-USA TODAY Sports

It’s March 24th and you didn’t get exactly what you wanted: tonight’s match-up means essentially nothing. The Hurricanes will take on the Ottawa Senators on the road in a Saturday night match-up.

The Hurricanes are coming off one of their most bizarre wins of the season. The 6-5 win over the Arizona Coyotes saw its fair share of crazy plays including a controversial play in which the puck lodged in Cam Ward’s skate and somehow found its way over the goal line. Valentin Zykov scored a pair of goals and showed he belonged with the big club. He was a nuisance on the ice, using his big frame to get to the front of the ice. Jeff Skinner also added a pair of goals and now has 22 goals on the season. Justin Faulk will be a game-time decision for tonight’s game, and Noah Hanifin could draw back in after missing three games with a concussion. Here’s how (we think) the Canes will look tonight:

Brock McGinn - Jordan Staal - Justin Williams

Jeff Skinner - Elias Lindholm - Phil Di Giuseppe

Valentin Zykov - Sebastian Aho - Teuvo Teravainen

Joakim Nordstrom - Derek Ryan - Lee Stempniak

Jaccob Slavin - Justin Faulk

Haydn Fleury - Trevor van Riemsdyk

Klas Dahlbeck - Roland McKeown

Cam Ward

Scott Darling

The Ottawa Senators dropped a 6-2 decision to the Edmonton Oilers on Thursday as Connor McDavid registered a four point night. Former Hurricanes legend Ty Rattie also added a goal and an assist in the blowout win. The Senators have gone 4-5-1 in their last ten games.

Erik Karlsson will make his return tonight after sitting out two games following the passing of his infant son. The Senators will play with seven defensemen, leaving Marian Gaborik the odd man out among the forwards. Here is how the Sens will look tonight:

Ryan Dzingel - Matt Duchene - Mike Hoffman

Magnus Paajarvi - Zack Smith - Tom Pyatt

Max McCormick - J.G. Pageau - Bobby Ryan

_____ - Filip Chlapik - Alexandre Burrows

Erik Karlsson - Cody Ceci

Thomas Chabot - Mark Borowiecki

Frederik Claesson - Ben Harpur - Patrick Sieloff

Craig Anderson

Mike Condon