clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Carolina Hurricanes Release 2018-19 Schedule

New, comments

Weekend-heavy home schedule, short road trips (with a home game during the fair!), holiday matchups highlight 2018-19 slate

Jamie Kellner

Things seem to be going the Carolina Hurricanes’ way in the first offseason of the Tom Dundon-Don Waddell-Rod Brind’Amour era. After landing the No. 2 pick in the draft lottery in May, Thursday’s full NHL schedule release was also kind to the Canes.

The schedule is very favorable for the Hurricanes, even with 17 back to backs (13 involving travel). There are perks both for the players in terms of travel and balance, and for filling PNC Arena with some prime home dates. Here are some of the highlights:

  • Carolina will open at home for the second year in a row, hosting the New York Islanders at PNC Arena Thursday Oct. 4. The Canes will play three games opening weekend, heading to Columbus to take on the Blue Jackets the day as part of their first back to back and hosting the Rangers Sunday.
  • The traditional “State Fair Road Trip” appears to be going by the wayside this year, as Carolina will play just three road games, against the Wild, Jets and Lightning during the annual festivities across Trinity Road. In fact, the Canes will actually play a home game during the Fair this year, hosting the Colorado Avalanche on the final Saturday (can you say traffic?).
  • This has to be the first time since the Canes started going on the road for the Fair that home games have outnumbered away in October; Carolina will play seven times at home compared to five away in the season’s first month.
  • November brings the Canes’ longest homestand of the season, with a six-game set against the Red Wings, Blackhawks, Blue Jackets, Devils, Maple Leafs and Panthers from the 10-23. This will be a key stretch to bank points early on as the Canes try and earn that coveted position in the postseason picture by Thanksgiving.
  • The team will also have two more five-game homestands, one in December against the defending Stanley Cup Champion Washington Capitals (the Canes and Caps meet for the first time Dec. 14), Coyotes, Red Wings, Penguins and Bruins. The other homestand could prove critical if the Canes are in the playoff chase down the stretch, as the team will host the Sabres, Penguins, Lightning, Wild and Canadiens March 16-24.
  • The season’s longest road trip? Five games in early February, with the team facing the Penguins, Sabres, Rangers, Devils and Senators the 5-12. The Canes will make their usual consolidated swings through California and Western Canada, visiting the Kings, Sharks and Ducks to start December, and Oilers, Flames and Canucks to close out January.
  • That Canada swing will kick off an extended All-Star break for the Canes, as the team’s league-mandated, five-day bye week will follow this year’s festivities in San Jose. The team will be off Jan. 24-31 before hosting the Vegas Golden Knights Feb. 1.
  • The Canes have plenty of weekend home games this year, 27 of 41 to be exact.
  • In addition, the team has several games at PNC Arena around the holidays, hosting the Maple Leafs the Wednesday before Thanksgiving, a back-to-back against the Penguins and Bruins before Christmas and the Flyers on New Year’s Eve.
  • Looking for a close, convenient road trip? The early Friday game against Columbus, a trip to Washington two days after Christmas (a Thursday), a visit to Nashville Saturday March 9 and the regular-season finale in Philadelphia Saturday April 6 stand out. These are a little further away, but the Canes will visit Vegas on a weekend this year (Saturday Nov. 3) and will face the Islanders at old Nassau Coliseum Tuesday Jan. 8.
  • Stick tap to Brett for pointing this out on Twitter: Six of the Canes’ last seven games are against the Metropolitan Division (two against the Capitals, two against the Flyers and one each against the Devils and Penguins).

Here’s the full schedule. Which games are you looking most forward to?

Carolina Hurricanes 2018-19 Schedule

DAY DATE VISITOR HOME TIME
DAY DATE VISITOR HOME TIME
Thu. 10/4/2018 N.Y. Islanders Carolina 7:00 PM
Fri. 10/5/2018 Carolina Columbus 7:00 PM
Sun. 10/7/2018 N.Y. Rangers Carolina 5:00 PM
Tue. 10/9/2018 Vancouver Carolina 7:00 PM
Sat. 10/13/2018 Carolina Minnesota 6:00 PM
Sun. 10/14/2018 Carolina Winnipeg 7:00 PM
Tue. 10/16/2018 Carolina Tampa Bay 7:30 PM
Sat. 10/20/2018 Colorado Carolina 1:00 PM
Mon. 10/22/2018 Carolina Detroit 7:30 PM
Fri. 10/26/2018 San Jose Carolina 7:30 PM
Sun. 10/28/2018 N.Y. Islanders Carolina 5:00 PM
Tue. 10/30/2018 Boston Carolina 7:00 PM
Fri. 11/2/2018 Carolina Arizona 10:00 PM
Sat. 11/3/2018 Carolina Vegas 10:00 PM
Tue. 11/6/2018 Carolina St. Louis 8:00 PM
Thu. 11/8/2018 Carolina Chicago 8:30 PM
Sat. 11/10/2018 Detroit Carolina 7:00 PM
Mon. 11/12/2018 Chicago Carolina 7:00 PM
Sat. 11/17/2018 Columbus Carolina 7:00 PM
Sun. 11/18/2018 New Jersey Carolina 5:00 PM
Wed. 11/21/2018 Toronto Carolina 7:00 PM
Fri. 11/23/2018 Florida Carolina 7:30 PM
Sat. 11/24/2018 Carolina N.Y. Islanders 7:00 PM
Tue. 11/27/2018 Carolina Montreal 7:30 PM
Fri. 11/30/2018 Anaheim Carolina 7:30 PM
Sun. 12/2/2018 Carolina Los Angeles 10:30 PM
Wed. 12/5/2018 Carolina San Jose 10:30 PM
Fri. 12/7/2018 Carolina Anaheim 10:00 PM
Tue. 12/11/2018 Toronto Carolina 7:00 PM
Thu. 12/13/2018 Carolina Montreal 7:30 PM
Fri. 12/14/2018 Washington Carolina 7:30 PM
Sun. 12/16/2018 Arizona Carolina 1:00 PM
Thu. 12/20/2018 Detroit Carolina 7:00 PM
Sat. 12/22/2018 Pittsburgh Carolina 7:00 PM
Sun. 12/23/2018 Boston Carolina 5:00 PM
Thu. 12/27/2018 Carolina Washington 7:00 PM
Sat. 12/29/2018 Carolina New Jersey 1:00 PM
Mon. 12/31/2018 Philadelphia Carolina 6:00 PM
Thu. 1/3/2019 Carolina Philadelphia 7:00 PM
Fri. 1/4/2019 Columbus Carolina 7:30 PM
Sun. 1/6/2019 Carolina Ottawa 2:00 PM
Tue. 1/8/2019 Carolina N.Y. Islanders 7:00 PM
Thu. 1/10/2019 Carolina Tampa Bay 7:30 PM
Fri. 1/11/2019 Buffalo Carolina 7:30 PM
Sun. 1/13/2019 Nashville Carolina 1:00 PM
Tue. 1/15/2019 Carolina N.Y. Rangers 7:00 PM
Fri. 1/18/2019 Ottawa Carolina 7:30 PM
Sun. 1/20/2019 Carolina Edmonton 9:30 PM
Tue. 1/22/2019 Carolina Calgary 9:00 PM
Wed. 1/23/2019 Carolina Vancouver 10:30 PM
Fri. 2/1/2019 Vegas Carolina 7:30 PM
Sun. 2/3/2019 Calgary Carolina 2:00 PM
Tue. 2/5/2019 Carolina Pittsburgh 7:00 PM
Thu. 2/7/2019 Carolina Buffalo 7:00 PM
Fri. 2/8/2019 Carolina N.Y. Rangers 7:00 PM
Sun. 2/10/2019 Carolina New Jersey 3:00 PM
Tue. 2/12/2019 Carolina Ottawa 7:30 PM
Fri. 2/15/2019 Edmonton Carolina 7:30 PM
Sat. 2/16/2019 Dallas Carolina 8:00 PM
Tue. 2/19/2019 N.Y. Rangers Carolina 7:00 PM
Thu. 2/21/2019 Carolina Florida 7:00 PM
Sat. 2/23/2019 Carolina Dallas 5:00 PM
Tue. 2/26/2019 Los Angeles Carolina 7:00 PM
Fri. 3/1/2019 St. Louis Carolina 7:30 PM
Sat. 3/2/2019 Carolina Florida 7:00 PM
Tue. 3/5/2019 Carolina Boston 7:00 PM
Fri. 3/8/2019 Winnipeg Carolina 7:30 PM
Sat. 3/9/2019 Carolina Nashville 8:00 PM
Mon. 3/11/2019 Carolina Colorado 9:00 PM
Fri. 3/15/2019 Carolina Columbus 7:00 PM
Sat. 3/16/2019 Buffalo Carolina 7:00 PM
Tue. 3/19/2019 Pittsburgh Carolina 7:00 PM
Thu. 3/21/2019 Tampa Bay Carolina 7:00 PM
Sat. 3/23/2019 Minnesota Carolina 7:00 PM
Sun. 3/24/2019 Montreal Carolina 7:00 PM
Tue. 3/26/2019 Carolina Washington 7:00 PM
Thu. 3/28/2019 Washington Carolina 7:00 PM
Sat. 3/30/2019 Philadelphia Carolina 1:00 PM
Sun. 3/31/2019 Carolina Pittsburgh 5:00 PM
Tue. 4/2/2019 Carolina Toronto 7:30 PM
Thu. 4/4/2019 New Jersey Carolina 7:00 PM
Sat. 4/6/2019 Carolina Philadelphia 7:00 PM