clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Introducing the 2019-20 Carolina Hurricanes Roster

A good number of new faces will begin the season on the Canes roster at Thursday night’s season opener.

Jamie Kellner

And then there were 20.

The Carolina Hurricanes made their final cuts of training camp Tuesday, reducing the active roster to 20 players prior to the 5:00 roster deadline. None of the three players who were placed on waivers Monday were claimed, and so Anton Forsberg, Gustav Forsling and Clark Bishop are headed to the Charlotte Checkers. Joining them in Charlotte will be Brian Gibbons and Roland McKeown, who had previously cleared waivers, and Julien Gauthier, who is in his final season of waiver exemption.

While Gauthier, who had a solid camp and was rewarded with a long look by Rod Brind’Amour and his staff, was the final cut from camp, the flip side was sweet for Martin Necas. The Czech center-turned-wing made the team out of camp for the second straight season and will try to stake a claim to a roster spot for more than the two games he played in 2018.

Trevor van Riemsdyk and Max McCormick will start the season on the non-roster injured reserve list, a bit of CBA legalese required since neither player finished last season on injured reserve. Both players skated today in non-contact jerseys at practice, and McCormick will need to clear waivers before his presumed assignment to Charlotte once healthy. The CBA does not allow injured players to be placed on waivers, limiting the Canes’ options with McCormick until he is back to full health.

Noteworthy among their absences on the injured list are Ryan Dzingel and Jake Gardiner, both of whom were full participants in today’s practice. With Gauthier and McKeown being reassigned and only 20 players on the active roster, it seems likely that both will play on Thursday night.

So, without further ado, here are your 2019-20 Carolina Hurricanes:

Forwards (12)

  • #11 Jordan Staal (captain)
  • #48 Jordan Martinook (alternate captain)
  • #13 Warren Foegele
  • #18 Ryan Dzingel
  • #20 Sebastian Aho
  • #21 Nino Niederreiter
  • #23 Brock McGinn
  • #37 Andrei Svechnikov
  • #56 Erik Haula
  • #71 Lucas Wallmark
  • #86 Teuvo Teravainen
  • #88 Martin Necas

Defensemen (6)

  • #74 Jaccob Slavin (alternate captain)
  • #4 Haydn Fleury
  • #6 Joel Edmundson
  • #19 Dougie Hamilton
  • #22 Brett Pesce
  • #51 Jake Gardiner

Goaltenders (2)

  • #34 Petr Mrazek
  • #47 James Reimer

Non-Roster IR (2)

  • #28 Max McCormick
  • #57 Trevor van Riemsdyk