clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Carolina Hurricanes 2019-20 regular season schedule released

New, comments

A Saturday game in Vegas! Oh, and other stuff too.

Jamie Kellner

Last Friday we learned that the Carolina Hurricanes will open the 2019-20 season on home ice against the Montreal Canadiens October 3, then follow that up with game two 48 hours later as the guests of honor at the Washington Capitals’ home opener. On Tuesday, the NHL announced how the Hurricanes’ other 80 games will break down.

The full Hurricanes regular season schedule is posted at the end of the article, and is now available on Hurricanes.com. Here are a few highlights of the Canes’ 20th anniversary season at PNC Arena:

  • This is not a drill: THE CANES PLAY A SATURDAY NIGHT GAME IN VEGAS. Saturday, February 8, to be exact. Book your flights now.
  • The State Fair is a week later than usual this year, which gives the Canes a chance to play four home games before the fair rolls in. Like last year, they will play a Saturday game during the Fair; this year’s game is a 1:00 matchup against the Blackhawks on the penultimate day of the Fair.
  • Friday games are again at 7:30 this season. All other home games start at 7:00.
  • The Canes again get to play Toronto in their annual midafternoon weekday game. This year’s edition is three days before Christmas at 2:00. The last time they played in that game, Scott Darling gave up eight goals. What could go wrong?
  • As usual, the division schedule is kooky. The three games against the Capitals that are not the second game of the season all come in a two-week span in late December and early January, including both of the Caps’ visits to Raleigh within just six days: December 28 and January 3. Then the season series is over on January 13.
  • Meanwhile, the Canes won’t see the Penguins until after the trade deadline (!), then they play each other four times in the final month of the season. No, I don’t get it either.
  • Between those two Caps games, the Canes will again host the Canadiens on New Year’s Eve.
  • Twenty-seven of the Canes’ 41 home games are on weekends. They play 16 back to back sets, one fewer than last season.
  • The longest homestand is a seven-game from December 28-January 11. Their longest road trip? A six-gamer in early March.

What are you looking most forward to in the 2019-20 season?

Carolina Hurricanes 2019-2020 Season Schedule

DAY DATE VISITOR HOME GAME TIME
DAY DATE VISITOR HOME GAME TIME
Thu. 10/3/2019 Montreal Carolina 7:00 PM
Sat. 10/5/2019 Carolina Washington 7:00 PM
Sun. 10/6/2019 Tampa Bay Carolina 5:00 PM
Tue. 10/8/2019 Carolina Florida 7:00 PM
Fri. 10/11/2019 N.Y. Islanders Carolina 7:30 PM
Sat. 10/12/2019 Columbus Carolina 7:00 PM
Tue. 10/15/2019 Carolina Los Angeles 10:30 PM
Wed. 10/16/2019 Carolina San Jose 10:30 PM
Fri. 10/18/2019 Carolina Anaheim 10:00 PM
Thu. 10/24/2019 Carolina Columbus 7:00 PM
Sat. 10/26/2019 Chicago Carolina 1:00 PM
Tue. 10/29/2019 Calgary Carolina 7:00 PM
Fri. 11/1/2019 Detroit Carolina 7:30 PM
Sat. 11/2/2019 New Jersey Carolina 7:00 PM
Tue. 11/5/2019 Carolina Philadelphia 7:00 PM
Thu. 11/7/2019 N.Y. Rangers Carolina 7:00 PM
Sat. 11/9/2019 Carolina Ottawa 7:00 PM
Mon. 11/11/2019 Ottawa Carolina 7:00 PM
Thu. 11/14/2019 Carolina Buffalo 7:00 PM
Sat. 11/16/2019 Carolina Minnesota 2:00 PM
Tue. 11/19/2019 Carolina Chicago 8:30 PM
Thu. 11/21/2019 Philadelphia Carolina 7:00 PM
Sat. 11/23/2019 Florida Carolina 7:00 PM
Sun. 11/24/2019 Carolina Detroit 7:00 PM
Wed. 11/27/2019 Carolina N.Y. Rangers 7:00 PM
Fri. 11/29/2019 Nashville Carolina 7:30 PM
Sat. 11/30/2019 Carolina Tampa Bay 7:00 PM
Tue. 12/3/2019 Carolina Boston 7:00 PM
Thu. 12/5/2019 San Jose Carolina 7:00 PM
Sat. 12/7/2019 Minnesota Carolina 7:00 PM
Tue. 12/10/2019 Carolina Edmonton 9:00 PM
Thu. 12/12/2019 Carolina Vancouver 10:00 PM
Sat. 12/14/2019 Carolina Calgary 4:00 PM
Tue. 12/17/2019 Carolina Winnipeg 8:00 PM
Thu. 12/19/2019 Carolina Colorado 9:00 PM
Sat. 12/21/2019 Florida Carolina 7:00 PM
Mon. 12/23/2019 Carolina Toronto 2:00 PM
Fri. 12/27/2019 Carolina N.Y. Rangers 7:00 PM
Sat. 12/28/2019 Washington Carolina 7:00 PM
Tue. 12/31/2019 Montreal Carolina 7:00 PM
Fri. 1/3/2020 Washington Carolina 7:30 PM
Sun. 1/5/2020 Tampa Bay Carolina 5:00 PM
Tue. 1/7/2020 Philadelphia Carolina 7:00 PM
Fri. 1/10/2020 Arizona Carolina 7:30 PM
Sat. 1/11/2020 Los Angeles Carolina 7:00 PM
Mon. 1/13/2020 Carolina Washington 7:00 PM
Thu. 1/16/2020 Carolina Columbus 7:00 PM
Fri. 1/17/2020 Anaheim Carolina 7:30 PM
Sun. 1/19/2020 N.Y. Islanders Carolina 5:00 PM
Tue. 1/21/2020 Winnipeg Carolina 7:00 PM
Fri. 1/31/2020 Vegas Carolina 7:30 PM
Sun. 2/2/2020 Vancouver Carolina 2:00 PM
Tue. 2/4/2020 Carolina St. Louis 8:00 PM
Thu. 2/6/2020 Carolina Arizona 9:00 PM
Sat. 2/8/2020 Carolina Vegas 10:00 PM
Tue. 2/11/2020 Carolina Dallas 8:30 PM
Fri. 2/14/2020 New Jersey Carolina 7:30 PM
Sun. 2/16/2020 Edmonton Carolina 4:00 PM
Tue. 2/18/2020 Carolina Nashville 8:00 PM
Fri. 2/21/2020 N.Y. Rangers Carolina 7:30 PM
Sat. 2/22/2020 Carolina Toronto 7:00 PM
Tue. 2/25/2020 Dallas Carolina 7:00 PM
Fri. 2/28/2020 Colorado Carolina 7:30 PM
Sat. 2/29/2020 Carolina Montreal 7:00 PM
Thu. 3/5/2020 Carolina Philadelphia 7:00 PM
Sat. 3/7/2020 Carolina N.Y. Islanders 1:00 PM
Sun. 3/8/2020 Carolina Pittsburgh 1:30 PM
Tue. 3/10/2020 Carolina Detroit 7:30 PM
Thu. 3/12/2020 Carolina New Jersey 7:00 PM
Sat. 3/14/2020 Pittsburgh Carolina 7:00 PM
Sun. 3/15/2020 Carolina Buffalo 5:00 PM
Tue. 3/17/2020 Buffalo Carolina 7:00 PM
Thu. 3/19/2020 St. Louis Carolina 7:00 PM
Sat. 3/21/2020 Ottawa Carolina 7:00 PM
Sun. 3/22/2020 Carolina N.Y. Islanders 5:00 PM
Tue. 3/24/2020 Carolina Pittsburgh 7:00 PM
Thu. 3/26/2020 Toronto Carolina 7:00 PM
Sat. 3/28/2020 Pittsburgh Carolina 1:00 PM
Sun. 3/29/2020 Carolina New Jersey 3:00 PM
Tue. 3/31/2020 Boston Carolina 7:00 PM
Fri. 4/3/2020 Columbus Carolina 7:30 PM
Sat. 4/4/2020 Carolina Boston 7:00 PM