clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Hurricanes announce 2021 training camp schedule and roster

The team’s first on-ice session will be Thursday at 9 a.m.

Carolina Hurricanes v Tampa Bay Lightning - Game Four Photo by Scott Audette/NHLI via Getty Images

Hockey is right around the corner! The Hurricanes announced their roster and schedule for their 2021 preseason and training camp Tuesday evening. The camp starts Wednesday with physicals and a team meeting, and the first on-ice session is Thursday morning at 9 a.m. at PNC Arena.

The team’s roster is split into two groups, Team Attitude and Team Energy. On Thursday, Team Attitude will practice first at 9 a.m., followed by Team Energy at 11. That’s mostly the schedule for the first part of camp, other than a couple off days, and, of course, the four preseason game days with the first coming Tuesday, Sept. 28 against the Tampa Bay Lightning at PNC Arena.

The Hurricanes have a team scrimmage scheduled for Oct. 3, and it looks like they plan to be down to one group with one team practice per day after that.

The team has announced that training camp is open to fully vaccinated and masked members of the media only.

The training camp roster features 46 skaters and six goalies (the two groups have not been announced yet). This training camp will take on added importance with the number of new faces the Canes added to their NHL group: two goalies (Frederik Andersen, Antti Raanta), four defensemen (Brendan Smith, Tony DeAngelo, Ethan Bear and Ian Cole) and three forwards (Derek Stepan, Josh Leivo, Jesperi Kotkaniemi).

The training camp roster features four members of the 2021 draft class in Bobby Orr, Justin Robidas, Patrik Hamrla and Bryce Montgomery.

The full roster is below:


Jordan Staal
Vincent Trocheck
Derek Stepan
Sebastian Aho
Nino Niederreiter
Seth Jarvis
Stefan Noesen
Dominik Bokk
Andrei Svechnikov
Josh Leivo
Sam Miletic
Bobby Orr
Justin Robidas
C.J. Smith
Jordan Martinook
Stelio Mattheos
Andrew Poturalski
Maxim Letunov
Ryan Suzuki
Jesper Fast
Jack Drury
Spencer Smallman
Steven Lorentz
Jamieson Rees
Jesperi Kotkaniemi
Blake Murray
David Cotton
Martin Necas
Teuvo Teravainen


Jaccob Slavin
Brett Pesce
Brady Skjei
Tony DeAngelo
Ethan Bear
Brendan Smith
Jake Gardiner
Ian Cole
Joey Keane
Cavan Fitzgerald
Jalen Chatfield
Eric Gelinas
Josh Jacobs
Maxim Lajoie
Jesper Sellgren
Ronan Seeley
Bryce Montgomery


Frederik Andersen
Antti Raanta
Beck Warm
Alex Lyon
Patrik Hamrla
Eetu Makiniemi